Video & Slides: Metaphors are everywhere: Ideas to Improve software development

Back last year in June of 2022 I gave what’s one of my favorite talks (of myself) at the wonderful conference Code Beam A Coruña. It’s a talk where I take some of my interests – Basketball, fiction writing, game development and trading card games – and look what we can learn about software development from them.

The talk was a major hit at the conference, with way more people than normal coming up to me to thank me about it and to talk about it. The video has been online for 10 months, but I just saw it yesterday and I must admit to watching the full talk. I had forgotten quite some aspects of the talk, so it was educational – even for me. Normally, I never watch my talks back – this seemed worth it.

The audio quality isn’t the best, but I hope you might still enjoy it!

You can also find the talk at speakerdeck, slideshare or as a PDF.

Abstract

Let’s embark on a journey together – a journey in which we’ll weave together the realms of basketball, fiction writing, game development and trading card games to explore how these seemingly unrelated domains surprisingly intersect with the world of software development, offering fresh perspectives and insights.

Discover how concepts, strategies, and principles from these diverse domains can enhance your software development skills and creativity. Let’s celebrate the power of interdisciplinary thinking, revealing how diverse interests can invigorate your approach to software development.

Leave a comment