Benchee 0.4.0 released – adjust what is printed

Today I made a little 0.4.0 release of my elixir benchmarking library benchee. As always the Changelog has all the details.

This release mainly focusses on making all non essential output that benchee produces optional. This is mostly rooted in user feedback of people who wanted to disable the fast execution warnings or the comparison report. I decided to go full circle and also make it configurable if benchee prints out which job it is currently benchmarking or if the general configuration information is printed. I like this sort of verbose information and progress feedback – but clearly it’s not to everyone’s taste and that’s just fine ๐Ÿ™‚

So what’s next for benchee? As a keen github observer might have noticed I’ve taken a few stabs at rendering charts in HTML + JS for benchee and in the process created benchee_json. I’m a bit dissatisfied as of now, as I’d really want to have graphs showing error bars and that seems to be harder to come by than I thought. After D3 and chart.js I’ll probably give highcharts a stab now. However, just reading the non-commercial terms again I’m not too sure if it’s good in all sense (e.g. what happens if someone in a commercial corporation uses and generates the HTML?). Oh, but the wonders of the Internet in a new search I found plotly which seems to have some great error bars support.

Other future plans include benchmarking with multiple input sizes to see how different approaches perform or the good old topic of lessening the impact of garbage collection ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

