Accepted for Google Summer of Code working on Shoes

Hi everyone,

this is just a quick note that I’m accepted as a student of Google Summer of Code. I will be working on Shoes, more specifically Shoes4, and the JRuby organization accepted me! So this will be a very interesting path on my journey šŸ™‚

But what does this mean? Well I will get paid to work on an open source project, that I love. Which means getting paid for my hobby, as I already am an active contributor to this project. Which also is your periodic reminder that dreams DO come true. I’m really psyched about this.

I will be working on implementing as many features as possible so that we can publish an alpha release or (hopefully) even a release candidate this year. Not promising anything though – you know what they say about software projects and release dates! šŸ˜‰

I’ll also make sure to focus on features that will make Hackety Hack run on Shoes4. Hackety is the biggest Shoes project out there and I would love to see it run on a stable platform again so many people can get into programming with the help of hackety again.

I just want to take this opportunity to thank Google for running such an awesome project supporting open source. And I want to thank the JRuby team for selecting me.

Enjoy your summer, I know I will enjoy mine,

Tobi

Leave a Reply

